One of the best parts of my job is getting to travel and talk with responders who have to operate within the law that I have the luxury of discussing on this blog and in my other publications.

This week I’ll be travelling to Western Australia. First I will deliver a presentation on legal issues when delivering care on ‘civvy street’ to medics with the Royal Australian Navy at HMAS Stirling.  I’ll then be giving two presentations (one at Bunbury and one in Perth) on legal issues involving the release of hazard information such as flood and fire mapping.  These presentations will be given on behalf of the Western Australia Local Government Association (WALGA) and the Local Government Insurance Service of WA (LGIS WA) to local government representatives.

The week after and I’ll be heading to the Gold Coast for a presentation on issues of natural justice to the inaugural meeting of the National SES Volunteers Association (see ‘Natural Justice and the SES‘ (September 28, 2015)).